Trip to Phuket – Day One, First Thing We Encounter

Last year on February, I and my office friend make a trip to Phuket Thailand. It’s my first trip overseas and gladly it’s very satisfying.

We plan it since 6 months before. Start by buying the cheap promotional Air Asia ticket. That is the time I start to love Air Asia, it has many promo all over the year; if you plan your trip far enough in the future it’s very cheap. By that time it only cost us IDR 700.000 for full flight.

This time we go by 4. 2 of them are my friend in the office, James and Birru, the other one is Birru’s friend Maro. We depart in the morning and if I am not mistaken it only takes around 2 hours flight.

It’s around noon when we arrive at Phuket airport. The airport is so so. I am not very impress, but it’s okay since I am not here to see airport :D. I want to see beaches and it’s gonna be wonderful vacation.

We need to take around 1 hour trip from airport to the Karon Beach. We go there because we find backpacker hostel there, and we choose it since it’s close to famous beach like Patong and Kamala but it not too famous itself, so hopefully it’s a little bit quite so we can own the beach by ourselves hehehehe

The first thing we do when we arrive at the hostel is to find food. It’s already late since+ lunch time. So we walk around the place, try to find food. And it ends to an arabian resto… Actually in Phuket, pork food is allowed, even recommended, so we have difficulties to find non pork meal. But now as we eat from Arabian resto, we can be sure that it safe.

(Actually I eat pork, but Birru and Maro can’t, so we try to find halal food, but when Birru and Maro aren’t around I and James going crazy to try any pork snack, it is a must!!!)

After eating, it’s about 4 PM, so we still have time before the show ‘Simon Cabaret’ we will attend at 7 PM, a lot of time actually (we buy the ticket when we are at airport, Phuket people is really smart I think, they catch the ball; we are also happy, we don’t need to put much effort to buy ticket).

So that afternoon, we play at the beach. Karon beach is very close to our hostel, probably 5 minutes walking. And it’s not packed, there are several tourists, but not many if them so we can enjoy the moment of privacy. And that is the first beautiful sunset we have in Phuket. I am amazed….

It’s getting dark, so we come back to hostel and prepare for ‘Simon Cabarets’ show. I think you can guess, yes it is lady boys show. They have many in here. And they are actually beautiful, even more beautiful than real Thai girl LOL….

They car pick us, the show is in Patong Beach, around 15 minutes from our place. I am very amazed by the tourism service in here. They are so understand us; they pick us in our hotel just for watching the show, so we don’t need to worry about transportation.

The bad thing is that we are late to get out the hotel, and since in the minibus there are several other people, they are getting upset. I think the culture of rubber time is only working in Indonesia, hehehe… At least they know now where do we come from… (not very proud of it, but let see everything positively ;)).

Now is the interesting part, ‘Simon Cabaret’, lady boy performance show. It’s very full pack. I am surprise that this place have these many tourists. And it’s very secure, I mean they guard it so that there no possibility of any body to take picture or video. So their show will be genuine, people can’t get its video, they need to go to this place to enjoy Thai lady boys.

The show itself is very interesting. In my life it’s the first time for me to watch live cabaret. I just about know that it’s a mimic performance, I mean they mimic the famous artist and sing or act like them. For example, they play like Madonna, Wonder Girl with ‘Nobody but You’, Marilyn Monroe, and several other (they play artist, not actor :p).

The second think of cabaret show is about great fashion show. It shows short play about world legend/historic/culture. Egyptian, Korean, Chinese, etc. They wear the traditional costume and entertain us with their beautiful movement. Also not forget that they are actually beautiful, sorry I should admit it, hohoho.

The most interesting part is when one of the performer, an old lady (old boys I mean), come down the stage and seduce the audience. And then one of the audience get honor to be plugged into her (his) boobies…. Yieksss…. I can’t imagine how the silicon boob taste, the more of it to aware that he kiss man chess. But I see that the victim glad enough while I am trying to find escape route just in case she (he) come and get me.

At the end of show, there is photo session, and it pay around 40.000 IDR to take a photo with them. Sorry, if it’s free I might consider to take picture with them, but with that fee there is no way I will go for it. And actually they cheat on it. They just force us (grab our hand) and make us take picture with them and then they make us pay, it’s dirty huh… They are bad boy after all.

And that is the end of day one. We go home and take rest. Quite great moment for first day. We need to save our energy. On the next day we will go for island hooping and snorkeling (we have buy the tour package in the airport before). Tomorrow will be quite busy day but I am excited 😀

Bonus: Phuket Tourism Map
Phuket Tourism Map

Leave a Reply

